Art & Soul...& Science
December 14, 2012 4:51 AM
Brian Kelly named Coach of the Year
Posted by Staff
University of Notre Dame football coach Brian Kelly has been named the recipient of the Football Writers Association of America’s 2012 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. The Eddie Robinson Award is awarded annually to college football’s top head coach in the Division I Football Championship Subdivision; the division’s sports information directors and selected sports writers cast votes annually to decide the winner.

The award is named for Eddie Robinson, the College Football Hall of Fame coach who retired in 1997 after 56 years at Grambling State University. Robinson was the winningest coach in Division I history with 408 victories. His teams won or tied for 17 Southwestern Athletic Conference championships after joining the league in 1959. Grambling claimed nine Black College Football Championships during his career. Facebook Fark Furl
Google Newsvine Reddit Yahoo
<< Back to Art & Soul...& Science